BITESIZE TOP 10 COURSES: PSYCHOLOGY

Audrey is one of our international students who is in her fourth year in Trinity.  Here she lets us know about her experience of studying Psychology at Trinity, one of our Top 10 Courses. 

Your name:  Audrey Chew

Your year of study: 4th Year (Senior Sophister)

Your programme of study / course:  Two-subject Moderatorship (TSM) Psychology and Sociology

 What made you decide to study your course at Trinity?

When I had my first tour around Trinity during the Open Day, I knew that this would be a university I would be proud to call my own. Trinity has a prestigious international reputation and the campus is absolutely gorgeous. Most importantly, its Two Subject Moderatorship (TSM) programme allowed for me to combine two of my desired Arts and Humanities subjects into a degree which most other universities did not offer. As a Psychology student, it was compulsory for me to participate in 20 hours’ worth of other people’s research in the university, which allowed me to discover and understand the different possible routes of Psychology. Also, I love the central location of the university as everything is just a short walk away – great brunch locations, cafés, restaurants, cinemas and more. Lastly, I knew that I was able to continue all my hobbies and discover new ones with the vast variety of clubs and societies in the university.

Involvement in societies - Trinity College Singer's concert in the Christchurch Cathedral which had 40

Photo: Trinity College Singer’s Concert in Christchurch Cathedral

What, if anything, was the most challenging thing about moving to Ireland to study?

Living within a different society with a different culture without family and close friends was definitely a challenge. Social norms which I was used to in Malaysia were turned on its head when I came here. It’s difficult to describe, but my normal style of communication with people was challenged. Interpretations of humour were different, body language was different, etc. So it took me awhile to figure out how to engage with others here.

How did you overcome the challenge?

I got really involved in several societies and religiously attended events to mingle with others. Through these events and classes, I made really great friends who I now have regular lunch or coffee dates every week. I also began working in the Trinity Global Room where I could help other international students who were going through similar challenges that I faced. This really made me happy as I got to help others in need, while building more friendships with the other people who were in the Global Ambassador team. I think it’s just key to feel like you belong somewhere, and that there are people who love you and appreciate you. It puts your life into perspective and you then really appreciate the university experience.

A trip in Budapest together with Trinity College Singers, where we performed in the Franz Liszt Academy of Music

Photo: A trip to Budapest with Trinity College Singers, where we performed in the Franz Liszt Academy of Music

What aspect / module of your course have you enjoyed studying the most so far and why? Participating in an EEG study as part of my Psychology research credits

Within the Psychology course, I really enjoyed the small tutorial group module called ‘Academic Skills’ for the first two years of the degree. Together with two of my classmates and one of my lecturers, we were required to individually research a topic relating to Psychology and present it to the group. The lecturers were extremely friendly, approachable and gave us very constructive feedback to help us learn more about researching and presenting. It made Psychology much more than just studying from a text book as it allowed us to engage with new material with the guidance of our lecturer. This really helped in preparing me for my final year dissertation which I’m currently doing as I now know that my project is mine to mold into whatever I desire.

Photo: participating in an EEG study as part of my Psychology research credits

If you had one piece of advice to any other students about to start your course in Trinity what would it be?

Look at the variety of courses provided in the college and see all the combinations that you may be able to do (especially within the Arts and Humanities section). Try to talk to any students who have studied in your intended course to get an understanding of the daily requirements of the course. This is especially important when it comes to assessments as certain modules may be assessed 100% by an examination at the end of term.

What is your favourite thing about Dublin?

There’s always something to do here. Festivals happen very often across the city and random markets pop up here and there (which I absolutely adore). The opportunity to explore nature’s beauty is only a 25-minute train away – beaches, cliffs, lakes, mountains, you name it. Also, it’s very well-connected to everywhere in Ireland and Europe which gives you the opportunity to travel the country and go abroad on the weekends as well!

Celebrating together with Psychology classmates after the annual exams in Wicklow which is just a short bus ride from Dublin.

Photo: Celebrating together with Psychology classmates after the annual exams in Wicklow, which is just a short bus ride from Dublin

What three words would you use to describe Trinity to someone who’s never been here?

Supportive, Challenging, Adventurous.

If you would like to get to know Trinity College, consider coming along to one of our upcoming US events this March and April in Chicago, Boston, New York, Philadelphia and Washington D.C.

 

One thought on “BITESIZE TOP 10 COURSES: PSYCHOLOGY”

Tell us what you think:

