cliffs

BITESIZE TOP 10 COURSES: ENGLISH

Keri is one of our US students who is in her fourth year in Trinity.  Here she lets us know about her experience of studying English at Trinity, one of our Top 10 Courses. 

I get the desire to get out and see the world; I also get that it can be scary to consider moving thousands of miles away from your family, so I commend you for coming this far. Honestly, the best thing you can do for yourself at this juncture is read all of the research you can get your eyeballs on. To that end, I’d like to share with you a little bit of insight into the reasons I chose to go to Trinity.

Like most eighteen-year-olds, I was desperate to graduate from high school. While I enjoyed school, I felt like I was ready for more. I dabbled with the idea of going to a school in the States but I ultimately knew that that would not be the right thing for me. For one thing, my sister had gone to a state school about 2 hours from where I grew up and my parents went to visit her EVERY. SINGLE. WEEKEND. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my parents more than I love most other people combined but I felt that I needed to get a certain level of separation if I was ever going to learn to be truly independent.

Secondly, I knew exactly what I wanted to study without a shadow of a doubt in my mind. In my opinion, the general education classes that are required at most American universities are great if you are unsure of what you want to do because they let you acquire credits that will still apply even if you switch majors. On the other end of the spectrum, if you are positive of what you want to do, gen eds feel more like a waste of time and can have negative effects on your GPA when they really don’t reflect on your abilities in your given choice of study.

Finally, the price to study at Trinity, one of the best universities in the world, was just about the same as if I was attending school in my home state – and that is including the in-state discount.

Once I had sated my practical side – a necessity for me – I was able to admit to myself all of the other reasons I desperately wanted to go to Trinity. The school itself is gorgeous; there is just something about walking in through the front gates and taking in the sight of Front Square that makes a girl feel all tingly inside. I wanted to have the opportunity to travel and see the world; to interact with people who were different from me on every level. I wanted to challenge myself to be bold and prove that I was capable of anything (including keeping myself alive for months at a time).

I found myself in a world so totally different from what I had seen when visiting my sister, and I have to admit that I am glad. I have made some of the best friends I have ever had here. I hkeriann2ave opened myself up to new skills and interests that I may never have looked into before – including being the chair of the oldest collegiate knitting society in the country (believe me, I’m a big deal). Thanks to Trinity’s GradLink program which connects students with graduates, I have a mentor who is helping me finish my novel.

I’m not saying that it is easy to move your whole life across the world. You will miss your family, your friends, and – most importantly – deep dish pizza (that’s the one that really stings. You can’t skype pizza). If you are willing to make that sacrifice and take the risk of moving into the unknown, you can experience something truly amazing. The power is in your hands so go out and do your research, think about whether or not Trinity will be right for you, and maybe I’ll see you around on this side of the pond.

If you would like to get to know Trinity College, consider coming along to one of our upcoming US events this March and April when we’ll be in Chicago, Boston, New York, Philadelphia and Washington D.C.

Tell us what you think:

