DREAM OF STUDYING AT TRINITY REALISED THROUGH INTERNATIONAL FOUNDATION PROGRAMME

By Sohyun Lim, South Korea [Trinity International Foundation Programme, Pathway A]

I came to Ireland at first in June 2015 to learn English and gain some experience living in another country. I wanted to pick a European country as I have always been interested in European culture and history. Of course the UK was another possible choice but I settled on Ireland because I could see some more practical advantages that Ireland has. Also, Ireland is a country with friendly people who enjoy a “good chat”!

While I was staying here, I gradually wanted to move on from learning English to academic study. Whenever I passed the Trinity campus, I dreamed of studying there and I also met some friends in Trinity who inspired me. I learned about Trinity’s long history and its high reputation. A public lecture I attended in Trinity organised by the Korean society there also helped me to stimulate the hope.

Eventually I decided to apply for a degree in Business, Economics and Social Science. However, students who study the high school curriculum in South Korea are generally not able to enter Trinity directly. So during my application, I learned from the Global Relations Office that I could apply for the Foundation programme. Another reason I joined this programme is that it will help my academic English skills for university study.

During our first week in Marino Institute of Education, we were invited to a series of events in Trinity. We met Professor Hussey in the Global Room and had a tour of the campus including the Book of Kells and the fabulous Old Library. We also got an opportunity to attend the Fresher’s week which was full of vibrant energy.

To successfully move onto Trinity next year, we have a lot of work and things to learn on this programme. Although sometimes they are quite challenging, I am really looking forward to studying at Trinity next year and I am sure every other student feels the same as me.

To learn more about the Trinity International Foundation programme download the full brochure.

 

 

One thought on “DREAM OF STUDYING AT TRINITY REALISED THROUGH INTERNATIONAL FOUNDATION PROGRAMME”

Tell us what you think:

