From California to Trinity and Back Again

Alice Gavin ChambersIn looking at colleges in high school, I was planning on going to Boston or a UC school when a Trinity representative came to my high school and told us about Trinity. I thought traveling during college sounded like a great idea. It’s the one time in your life you aren’t really tied down to family or career and being in Europe sounded fun. Not to mention that the education at Trinity is one of the best in the world.

Having Trinity be a mostly enclosed campus, it felt more like a community than I was expecting even though it’s in the middle of a busy city. I could always walk into Trinity and see someone I knew. Dublin is a wonderful city for a college student. There are so many young people and tons of things to do from pubs and clubs to museums, art galleries and theatre. Not to mention all the great places you can visit outside the city and in the rest of Europe. Traveling around during weekends and holidays was one of the best parts of going to Trinity. I wish I had done more!

I loved my course. I did Psychology at undergraduate level and then did a master in Neuroscience. Not only was the material interesting, it was really well taught. Both departments had wonderful professors who felt more like colleagues than teachers. I felt comfortable going to their offices to ask questions and they usually knew us all by name which is rare to find in a University.

Coming back to San Francisco after my Psychology BA and Neuroscience Masters, I found it easy to get a job with my degrees. Employers love to talk about Ireland. Everyone seems to have an Irish uncle, cousin, great grandmother twice removed or some kind of connection with Ireland and it was always a positive talking point in interviews. They also seemed impressed that I was well traveled by 22 years old. I’ve been working mostly in medical research and now I am a health and nutrition counselor working with patients in a medical office.


Alice Galvin Chambers is a Trinity graduate from California. She completed a BA (Hons) in Psychology in 2007 and an MSc in Neuroscience in 2008 at Trinity College Dublin.

One thought on “From California to Trinity and Back Again”

Tell us what you think:

