Part-Time Work

Before you ask, unfortunately, no, I am not hiring staff at this time. During my time in college, I have had a few part time jobs, ranging from hospital porter to Global Relations Student Ambassador and everything in between.

Working in first and second year is fine. It’s a bit of life experience on how to work in the professional world. . . well let’s face it, it’s good money for your social activities. While I won’t advise someone to not work during college, I would suggest not burning yourself out doing it. Between college and assignments and any club and society activity, work can drain your reserves fairly quickly.

Working in Dublin can be amazingly fun if you can find a job. I worked for a recruitment agency where I got assigned to a hospital as a porter for 3rd shift work. Now this doesn’t sound too appealing, but it was quite lucky for me.  This was about a month before exams, I was working 6 days a week for 3 weeks. I know, I know, you’re thinking, where is the appeal? Well since it was 3rd shift, I literally had one job to do the entire night, and the manager knew I had exams coming up, so she allowed me to bring my laptop and all my study material. Basically I got paid for 9 hours a night to study uninterrupted.

That was the nice job. The next year, I worked with Jurys Inn. Now, the folks were absolutely lovely, the job was interesting, but. . . yes, there is a “but”, the hours were crazy! I was in college 25 hours a week, study and assignments 20 hours a week and working anywhere from 20-40 hours a week. This was exhausting. I would be finished college at 5 and be in work for 6 to finish at 11. This amount of work caused my college work to slip a lot. It just was not sustainable.

Currently, I am working in the Global Relations Office. This job has been the best job I have worked. Amazing people, incredible events, full of world culture and the boss is very conscious of our schedule and works around that for our hours. What more could you ask for?

If you must work, or if you want to work, the best piece of advice I can give you is to NOT take a job that will hurt your college work. Put college first and work second. Enjoy college life and try not to add any unnecessary stress to your experience.

Tell us what you think:

