My year abroad: Boston

One of the many privileges I have enjoyed during my time at Trinity has been when I was selected to study abroad at Boston College last year through the Global Partnerships scheme. It was a wonderful opportunity to make new friends who came from an array of different countries; to travel and explore the United States whilst learning more about its culture; and to enrich my academic studies by learning in a different environment. During my time in Boston I was able to enjoy many magical experiences including: visiting Fenway Park to watch a New York Yankees v Boston Red Sox baseball game, visiting Cape Cod, surviving a snow storm and enjoying Thanksgiving in my American friend’s family home. I have been able to use the experiences I had during my time abroad in my role of Global Student Ambassador at Trinity. I remember feeling very excited about the prospect of studying abroad in America, and yet was still apprehensive about moving away and living so far away from home. Would I miss home? Would I make friends? Thankfully I had a great year, but everyone at some stage goes through ups and downs, and in the Global Room we are here to help with that. There are student ambassadors on duty at all times to answer students questions or simply be there to chat to, so please drop by and say hello! We have a wide range of experiences and backgrounds that enable us to relate to many of the questions and concerns that international students may have. Or alternatively follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/tcdglobalrelations to hear more about some of the events that happen in our Global Room, we hope to see you soon!

-Sophie

Tell us what you think:

