Discovering diversity in my student experience

Freshers

I started taking my engineering discipline last year. Despite all the information I received from the Trinity Access Program (TAP) in the Pre-University week, walking into the Campus on the first day, was like walking into the storm after having a cup of tea in the house. I didn’t know what I wanted to join, everyone want me in their society. Then the week ended as quickly as it began, and by then I had only joined two societies, which I couldn’t even go to because as the college work began, I felt like I had been thrown into a pressure cooker. Then as the year progressed I felt like all I did was lectures, labs, then I’d go home. I knew I was missing something; I was missing the campus life which I didn’t want to miss. It can be quite hard, as I live a little bit far from Dublin, and having to be in at 9am every day is also quite annoying. So I watched the clock tick every day until one day TAP called for volunteers to help students who are still in high school see what college life is like. I knew I wanted to help and by doing so I learned what else I could do in college, when I’m not busy with assignments.

One of the biggest things I learned was the value of diversity. I learned about individuality. This was different, as I was so used to being compared to other students in secondary school and the uniform made it all worse. Here I could wear what I like, eat what I like (Mom is not here) and even better, I began to learn how to be me. To improve the diversity of my experience, I began learning Chinese and French, both of which I’m still teaching myself slowly. Working in the Global Room has allowed me to go to some of the Chinese and French events, where I gained even more understanding of the Chinese and French cultures and traditions. In addition, I learned the importance of being me, so every day I wear my black jacket with the hoody on my head and walk around the college, cause that’s how I feel most comfortable. I also volunteered as a Student 2 Student mentor, which allows me to volunteer on my free time… So I suppose taking things slowly has been quite helpful too!

Tell us what you think:

