Bouncing into clubs & societies

During the first week of term, over 200 clubs, societies and publications set up tables in Front Square to recruit new members. Take a look: 

Being a student in Trinity,I am quite lucky to be able to join the approximately 200 clubs and societies in college. Each society and club has its own attraction and its own identity. I have joined an array of different groups during my time here in Trinity,and by the time I am done, I will probably have joined a lot more. One thing they all have in common, is that the moment you join,from the first event you attend right through to the last, you are made feel welcome and like a true part of the society. To talk about every society and club I am involved in would take aeons, so I will concentrate on giving a thorough look on the one currently in favour. This Club has made life in Trinity so enjoyable that I don’t see myself leaving the club,even after graduation.

The Club I’m talking about is the Trampoline Club. From the moment I joined,I felt like a real part of the club, from being trained by the Club’s amazing coaches, to drinking with the fantastic members and committee. I am extremely happy to belong to a Club with such dedication to making its members as happy as they can be here in Trinity. If you wish to compete at a very high level for the College,or if you wish to just learn how to bounce for the fun of it, they offer both of these levels and everything in between.

As far as the Social aspect of the Club,it is the closest group of people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Everyone looks out for everyone, no exceptions. The events that are organised are so much fun,before it is over, you are already wondering when the next event will take place,and fortunately,we never have long to wait. There is always something going on, from competitions, training weekends in Cavan, Fancy Dress, Pyjama bouncing and night time socializing.

As I said, this is just one of many clubs in Trinity,each with their own take on college life. Finding the right society or club to fit into isn’t a hard task. The hard part is only picking a few to fully immerse yourself in. If I could give any advice, it would be to join as many as you can in first year and use the process of elimination to find your favourite.

–Student Ambassador, John Murray

Tell us what you think:

